Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kanye West’s Apology

with one comment

I’m sure by now everyone has at least heard about Kanye West’s MTV VMA incident on Sunday. After Taylor Swift won the VMA for best female video, Kanye West jumped on stage proclaiming that Beyonce created the best video of all time. As a PR major, not only did I recognize that this is this a huge problem for Kanye West’s reputation, but it also made me think a little bit about viral apologies and their overall effectiveness.

Obviously Kanye’s reputation and image suffered after this incident. But even after his four, public and private apologies to Taylor Swift and the public, it seems as if all is not forgiven. To me, part of the reason that the public is not entirely forgiving in this incident is because of his previous reputation of being pretentious and outspoken. The other problem was the medium he used to apologize the next morning. Blogs are great for sending positive information out to the masses, but they are not so good for serious apologies or sincere messages. Additionally, the font and language of his apology seemed to be impersonal and un-heartfelt.

“”I’M SOOOOO SORRY TO TAYLOR SWIFT AND HER FANS AND HER MOM. I SPOKE TO HER MOTHER RIGHT AFTER AND SHE SAID THE SAME THING MY MOTHER WOULD’VE SAID. SHE IS VERY TALENTED! I LIKE THE LYRICS ABOUT BEING A CHEERLEADER AND SHE’S IN THE BLEACHERS! …………………… I’M IN THE WRONG FOR GOING ON STAGE AND TAKING AWAY FROM HER MOMENT!…………….. BEYONCE’S VIDEO WAS THE BEST OF THIS DECADE!!!! I’M SORRY TO MY FANS IF I LET YOU GUYS DOWN!!!! I’M SORRY TO MY FRIENDS AT MTV. I WILL APOLOGIZE TO TAYLOR 2MRW. WELCOME TO THE REAL WORLD!!!! EVERYBODY WANNA BOOOOO ME BUT I’M A FAN OF REAL POP CULTURE!!! NO DISRESPECT BUT WE WATCHIN’ THE SHOW AT THE CRIB RIGHT NOW CAUSE … WELL YOU KNOW!!!! I’M STILL HAPPY FOR TAYLOR!!!! BOOOYAAAWWWW!!!! YOU ARE VERY VERY TALENTED!!! I GAVE MY AWARDS TO OUTKAST WHEN THEY DESERVED IT OVER ME… THAT’S WHAT IT IS!!!!!!! I’M NOT CRAZY YALL, I’M JUST REAL. SORRY FOR THAT!!! I REALLY FEEL BAD FOR TAYLOR AND I’M SINCERELY SORRY!!! MUCH RESPECT!!!!!”

Although he appeared very sincere and sorry during his Jay Leno interview on Monday evening, his initial response to the public seems to have actually caused more damage than good. Since this interview everyone from Perez Hilton, to the Today Show cast have publicly questioned Kanye’s apology and the medium he used to express it. Some suggested that a better method would be to appear on an early morning talk show like the Today Show, or to issue and immediate video apology on Sunday night.  They say that because blogs don’t allow us to see visual cues, we question the sincerity and honesty of them. When you combine that with an already negative perception of an individual, it can further fuel a media fire, and contribute to the problem rather than help change a bad reputation.

Written by alisonnovak

September 16, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really think/am almost positive this blog post was written by someone else, be it a publicist or just someone else trying to save face for Kanye. I’m no authority on his personality but I can’t ever picture him using so many exclamation points or words like “BOOOYAAAWWWW!!!!” I also doubt he would sound so schizophrenic, going from trying to appologize and then telling everyone, “WELCOME TO THE REAL WORLD!!!! EVERYBODY WANNA BOOOOO ME BUT I’M A FAN OF REAL POP CULTURE!!!”

    jaimespinelli

    September 21, 2009 at 3:31 am


Leave a Reply

