Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Adam Lambert’s AMA performance: Tongues, leashes and a stumble

with one comment

http://www.nj.com/entertainment/celebrities/index.ssf/2009/11/adam_lamberts_ama_performance.html
I first heard about Adam Lambert’s risque American Music Awards performance when my mother called me to discuss it.  I was disappointed I had missed the American Idol star myself after my mom told me all the details of what he was doing onstage.  I immediately went online to watch it myself. After viewing it felt disgusted by the sexually explicit performance that was shown on cable television. I star that is highly recognized by young people from American Idol should never have done the things he did on that stage.  Though its his right to be the kind of artist he wants to be at his own concerts, the AMAs were definitely not the time or place.

Written by cassiavarvaro

December 8, 2009 at 6:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The question is, when is “the time and the place?” Why isn’t it at the AMA’s? Is there something special or sacrosanct about these awards?

    We know that controversy works – it gets attention, and it gets people talking. And we know that being a little bit “out on the edge” is part of Lambert’s appeal to his audience. Provocative acts only work when they *provoke,* when they get under people’s skin. Didn’t he achieve exactly what he set out to do with this act, then?

    michaelhkoch

    December 8, 2009 at 6:48 pm


Leave a Reply

