Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Invictus = Wow

leave a comment »

So, I had the lovely opportunity to go to the movies this weekend and I saw Invictus. Invictus is as you probably know is the story of the 1995 South African Rugby team starring Morgan Freeman as Nelson Mandela and Matt Damon as team captain Francois Pienaar. I first learned the story of the team and the country while watching the ESPY awards over the summer. The was a nice 10 minute story about it and Nelson Mandela was presented with Arthur Ashe Lifetime Achievement Award. This alone I thought was very interesting onto itself, let alone a full feature length film. The thing that I thought was great about the movie was the fact that it wasn’t just a sport movie or even just a movie about social injustice. No, this movie was an excellent human interest movie about the boundless human spirit. As both a rugby player and an African-American, I can tell you that you don’t need to know a thing about rugby to enjoy the film and also that it isn’t riddled with looming racism and prejudice. The movie actually had me quite speechless as I left the theater which is odd because I’m a person that has usually has something say. I highly recommend the movie to anyone and everyone, I might even see it again before it leaves theaters (but maybe at a cheaper price than the first time). Here is the video that was presented at the ESPYs (Narrated by Morgan Freeman). It is a good microcosm of the movie, Invictus.

Written by timothyakins

December 17, 2009 at 5:43 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

