Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

*Radio Edit*

with one comment

I listen to the radio a lot, mostly during my commutes to and from school. Something that bugs be is the cheesy censoring of swearing in songs. Now, I mostly listen to alternative rock stations, so the cursing isn’t too prevelant or over the top, but I still notice the skips.

Normally, this doesn’t bother me. I get why they do it. There are standards the stations must adhere to lest they be fined or lose advertisers. But over the summer, while I was working with some older guys who listen to classic rock stations, and “Money” by Pink Floyd came on. If you know the song, you’ll recall the line “Money, it’s a hit/
Don’t give me that/  Do goody good bullshit.”It’s a catchy little song, but I realized the station had not censored the word “bullshit.”

this got me to thinking, did they keep it in because their rules are different, or is there a point where a piece of art– whether it’s music, film, or anything– passes a point where it is considered so “artistic” or “important” or “a classic” that it is no longer subject such severe censorship? ABC from time to time will air “Saving Private Ryan” without any cuts. The same content in a less highly-regarded movie would definitely be subject to television edits on that channel.

My problem isn’t with the fact that these things go uncensored. The only thing that bothers me is that other things do, for reasons that I don’t know, by people I don’t know. F*** that s****.

Written by robertmchugh

December 21, 2009 at 7:15 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I definitely hear you. Censorship alone irritates me, because it has tendency to ruin things quite easily. Plus, appropriatness is too subjective. Let parents decide if their kids should be prevented from seeing or hearing something.

    michaelgar

    January 25, 2010 at 11:33 pm


Leave a Reply

