Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Rambo Revival on AMC

leave a comment »

As a young girl I played with stuffed animals and coloring books.  I watched Disney movies like Aladdin and Beauty and the Beast, and was never exposed to silly things like Rocky or Rambo.  But when we watched Rocky IV in class last week, I became hooked.  I found myself wishing that I could kick someone’s ass, “Rocky-style.”  So of course when I was flipping through the channels and saw that the AMC channel was holding a “Can’t Get Enough Rambo Week,” I had to tune in.  I watched “Rambo: First Blood Part II.” (sidenote: why don’t they just call it Second Blood… I understand that “the other side” always draws “first blood” and Rambo only fights when attacked… but if you’re not going to be original in making up a title, at least make sense.) The idea of the hard body is apparent throughout the movie.


Here, Rambo gets tortured by electrocution
(no big deal), then gets branded by a knife, to escape from 3-4 armed men with only his muscles and a microphone as weapons. He then defeats a group of armed soldiers one at a time with only a bow and arrow. Did I mention the movie takes place in Vietnam? He runs around the wilderness like he knows where he’s going, driven by pure instinct. Oh and that girl in the clip? His girlfriend. Rambo the animal, previously known for only grunts and yelps, is capable of love. He promises to take her back to America.. and then she is shot. He seeks vengeance by killing even more soldiers. Then flies a helicopter full of POWs to safety. No big deal. Just another typical American, doing what Americans do. Right?Obviously the movie is unrealistic and I think that’s why people love it. But my question is, why the Rambo Revival now? AMC’s website is even hosting a “Vote for your favorite Sylvester Stallone character” poll.
Are 2010 Americans in need of a hard body? I guess superheroes and vampires just aren’t doing it for us.

Written by amandamastroberti

May 13, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

