Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

“No Texting at the Table”

leave a comment »

Media affects so many aspects of our lives. What I’ve begun to notice is how it can even affect our manners. SO many cliches come to mind when thinking of manners. Most parents want to raise polite, well behaved children- in other words, kids with good manners. I’m pretty sure some of the first lessons my mom ever taught me, as soon as I learned to speak, dealt with good manners. Please and thank you. Treat others the way you want to be treated. Share with your friends. Is the changing world of media and technology changing our levels of politeness, and our lessons of politeness?

Dinner time is prime time for manners. Ever heard of no elbows on the table? Napkin in your lap? Don’t chew with your mouth open? Today, I find myself noticing a new rule frequenting my mom’s vocabulary- “No texting at the table.” Texting has become so popular, especially among my generation and younger generations. Kids are constantly in communication with one another. However, for families who still hold on to the notion of dinner time as family time, texting can get in the way. Not only does my 16 year old brother always have his phone by his side, but he is also always texting. And, consequently, my mom feels as if it interrupts our “family time.” My mom, as I’m sure along with numerous other moms, can’t stand it when he (or my sister or I) texts during dinner. And honestly, even I can see the rudeness in it. You’re essentially ignoring the conversation with the physically present people in exchange for a conversation with someone who isn’t even there. Multitasking is an important skill to master. However, when it comes to texting, it isn’t so great at the cost of ignoring face to face communication.

Written by lynnie23

May 17, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

