Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Facebook takes bullying to a whole new low

leave a comment »

I logged on to Facebook the other day to find that 2 of my friends had liked “That Bearded Lady Who Works at Wal-Mart.”  I was appalled. Yes, the Wal-Mart staff may not be ready for the runway, but they have feelings! There happens to be a young woman who works as a cashier at my local Wal-Mart who is always cheerful and does her job very well, and has been for years. And yes, she has facial hair.  It’s worth a snicker or two for some people.  But others thought it would be funny to make an application on Facebook.  Really?  This girl probably has a Facebook. 

So when I saw the post on my news feed, I clicked on it because I couldn’t believe what I was reading.  I was glad to see that one of my friends who had joined the group had only done so to write on the wall.  She said that she has known the young woman for a very long time and that she had been made fun of for her physical appearance all her life.  She lives with her father to save money and he won’t let her shave because he believes that people should like her for who she is, not what she looks like.  Facebook is meant to be a social networking website, to make ties with people and keep them.  Why has it turned into another way to bully people?  Needless to say I won’t be providing a link.

Written by amandamastroberti

May 23, 2010 at 12:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

