Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Twitter Losing Tweeters?

leave a comment »

Johnmayer

Yes, sad but true, Twitter is losing its fame. I am not an avid Twitter user, but I do use it for my music. I never thought that tweeting could be seen in a negative connotation, but apparently it can.

Most recently, John Mayer has shut down his Twitter page. Why you ask? Because of the “John Mayer haters.”  After some of his posts were put into headlines, he threatened to get rid of his Twitter, and followed through with that on Sunday.

Seeing that I don’t really use Twitter, I’m not really sure how it works. But to my understanding you can post whatever you want as long as it is less than 140 characters. The only things I post as a musician are things such as album release dates, show dates/times and anything related to new and upcoming songs. I don’t understand why anyone would waste their time trying to antagonize a musician, especially someone as well-known as John Mayer. What exactly do they thing they’re accomplishing by doing so?

I could understand if he was posting things that were just asking for someone to comment on. But why be the one to ruin the whole Twitter experience with John Mayer? According to cambio.com, Miley Cyrus, Amanda Bynes and Demi Lovato have also deleted their Twitter accounts. If Twitter is taking a turn for the worse, I want to get out while I still can.

http://www.cambio.com/more/news/john-mayer-turns-his-back-on-twitter?icid=main%7Cnetscape%7Cdl9%7Csec3_lnk2%7C170612

Written by alexabritt

September 15, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

