Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Real ‘deal?’

leave a comment »

This one is going to be short, but ‘cheap.’

As a college student, I’m always looking for a deal. I stumbled upon this article on aol.com, titled “Brand Names for Less.” Yes, I relieve stress by shopping, what typical college student female doesn’t? Anyways, I was just curious as to how much less these items could possibly be. The ever-so-popular Uggs, North Face jackets, even Chi flat irons were listed. After browsing through some of them, I’d agree, yes they are a tad bit cheaper. But after REALLY browsing, I found most of these items even cheaper. For some reason, aol insisted on using Nordstrom’s as their go-to for saving money. I always thought of Nordstrom’s as expensive. Except for the Anniversary Sale, you can usually find some good deals there. But for example, The Walking Company had some Uggs that were cheaper. I know for a fact you can get the Chi for $99.99 at most salons. Plus you also have to take into consideration those pesky online shipping charges.

All in all, for my own sake, I don’t buy name brands simply because I can’t afford them. If I did, I would probably have to sacrifice grocery shopping for the rest of the semester. I’m all about my knock-off’s. Because then if we end up with a freak rain/hail storm, I won’t care about my $20 “Fuggs” getting ruined by water, slush or mud.

Written by alexabritt

November 8, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

