Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s Going to be a Healthy Christmas… Apples for everyone!

leave a comment »

A recent study conducted by Duracell reports that Apple products dominate the top of the Christmas lists for 2010.  The top 3 items on the Christmas list this year are as follows:

  1. iPhone 4
  2. iPod touch
  3. iPad  

The most surprising thing about this is that these are the top of children’s Christmas lists.  39% of children want some type of apple gadget for Christmas this year.

  • 17% of 5-8 year olds want Apple products
  • 50% of 9-12 year olds most want an Apple iGadget
  • 66% of 13-16 year olds have Apple products at the top of their list

I have three younger siblings under the age of 13.  They all have iPods and they all want laptops and iPhones, so these statistics are not surprising to me.  What is surprising to me is how far we have come in the past 10-20 years.  I know that I wasn’t asking for iPhones and iPods when I was 9 years old, but I couldn’t remember exactly what I did want, so I looked it up. 

 I found a website that lists the most popular Christmas item for each year of the 1990’s.  Some of the things on the list included Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Action Figures, Pogs, Beanie Babies, Furby, Tamagotchi, and Pokemon.  It is crazy to think that at 8-years old I was asking for a Furby and now at 8-years old my sister is asking for an iphone.  I think it really opens my eyes to how much we have grown and how much we have been affected by the advancements in technology.  I only hope that by the time I have kids the trend goes back to dolls and such, because something like a Furby or a Tomagatchi is much cheaper than an Ipod or an Iphone.

Sources:

http://osxdaily.com/2010/10/26/most-popular-christmas-gifts-2010/

http://www.printableonlinegiftcertificates.com/blog/most-popular-christmas-gifts-1990-through-1999/

Written by danielleaveta1

December 6, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

