Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Keep Christ in Christmas

leave a comment »

So apparently there’s a controversy about the name of a parade in Tulsa being called a holiday parade instead of a Christmas parade.  My opinion has always been, and will always be, that it’s Christmas season, and anything designed for Christmas shouldn’t have to be masked. This parade is just a small example of the trend in this country to take Christ out of Christmas.  It’s not so much the name that bothers people as it is the mindset behind people who don’t like to use the word Christmas. It’s a Christmas tree, not a holiday tree.  New Years Eve and Hanukkah also occur around this time, so I don’t really mind people saying “happy holidays” rather than “merry Christmas”.  What really bothers me are the people who get offended by the phrase “merry Christmas.”  Last time I checked, most people in this country celebrate Christmas, so if I want to wish someone a merry Christmas, the possibility of me offending someone doesn’t really cross my mind.  If I do actually offend them, I don’t care.  They’re way too over sensitive.  From my experience, it’s usually those with a political agenda or those who want attention that tend to make a big deal about this issue.  I only have one thing to say to those people: Merry Christmas.

http://liveshots.blogs.foxnews.com/2010/12/07/tulsa-council-votes-on-parade/?test=latestnews

Written by dpearles

December 13, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

