Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Remembering a beautiful soul, R.I.P. – John Lennon

leave a comment »

John Lennon

Recently the world marked the 30th anniversary of the assassination of John Lennon. Every year the anniversary comes around, I can’t help but feeling a bit down. I don’t understand how someone could be so selfish (or deranged) to take the life of such a truly amazing human being. His life may have ended 30 years ago, but his light will never be extinguished.

In the link below, it mentions that Rolling Stone will be releasing a lost interview, the final interview John gave, from the day before his death. A former reporter found the “lost” tapes just recently when cleaning out his apartment. The excerpt below shows how truly timeless John is and how we can all strive for a better world:

“I’m not claiming divinity,” Lennon said at one point. “I’ve never claimed divinity. I’ve never claimed purity of soul. I’ve never claimed to have the answer to life. I’ve never made any claims. I only put out songs and answer questions as honestly as I can.” Later he spoke on the ways his philosophy had and hadn’t changed since the idealistic ’60s: “I see the world through different eyes now, [but] I still believe in love, peace and understanding, as Elvis Costello said. What’s so f—ing funny about love, peace, and understanding?“

Written by clairebevacqua

December 13, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

