Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

“Reality” Love

leave a comment »

Today I was flipping through the television stations with my roommate when she told me to stop on the Bravo channel. It was her favorite television show Millionaire Matchmaker. I had have never even heard of this show so my roommate described it to me saying it was a show about a matchmaker trying to find love for millionaires. In my head I was thinking “is this seriously her favorite show? Its obviously not real”. The episode that she made me watch was with the sons from the Real Housewives of New Jersey. In the episode they were complaining how women were only attracted to them from their fame and they were tired of it. They wanted a “real” relationship filled with love and support. But this made me think “ why would they go on a national televised show to find love?!?! its so stupid!”. If they are on a show that is called the “Millionaire Matchmaker” then obviously the girls are going to compete to win the attention of a millionaire, and they are trying to get the guy for the wrong reasons (same thing if it were a female millionaire). In my opinion this whole reality “love” show looks like a publicity stunt, because if women and men were willing to go on national television and share their most intimate secrets they are obviously not trying to find someone to spend the rest of their lives with. If they were, they would only share it with one person and not the entire nation.

Written by olivialmcgrath1

December 20, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

