Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

‘Bridalplasty’: Inner beauty apparently doesn’t matter on your wedding day.

leave a comment »

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1352092/I-bad-luck-bride-anymore–Allyson-Donovan-wins-controversial-reality-Bridalplasty.html

As a public relations and journalism major, I am extremely fascinated by everything surrounding the wedding industry, especially the popular bridal/wedding shows out there. I hope to work in the industry one day, and so I try my best to keep up on the current wedding media. One show I came across in November 2010, when it premiered, was E!’s controversial reality show, ‘Bridalplasty.’  The show features twelve future brides competing in Los Angeles in various wedding-related challenges. The winner of individual challenges wins the plastic surgery of their choice, but as brides are eliminated, the other brides get closer and closer to winning their dream wedding for free as well as all the plastic surgeries they desire before their big day at no cost. 

I thought the days of remodeling people’s faces and bodies through expensive procedures on television to promote outer beauty over inner beauty were over with the death of shows like ‘The Swan’ and ‘Extreme Makeover.’ However, these brides were serious and wanted to look their best on their wedding day, which is understandable to some extent, but aren’t there other ways to go about it…like working out, dieting, getting a new haircut, or, god forbid, just having self esteem? I honestly would have respected the brides and the show overall if the surgery portion was eliminated, and they could fight for an ideal wedding. That is admirable, but of course, it’s all about the controversy and the ratings.

I can’t deny that I was a sucker for the controversy. To me, the weekly episodes could be compared to car wrecks…sad and shocking but fascinating in a depressing way. When the finale premiered, I’ll say I was pleased with the winner. Allyson, the self-described “trucker bride” from Illinois was portrayed as honest and hardworking with no ill intentions towards the other brides, unlike others on the show. After the recession hit her and her fiance, they both lost their jobs and had no budget whatsoever, and so it really was nice to see her have that wedding she had only dreamed of.

Here’s the kicker, though. After four months away from her fiance through filming the show and undergoing her SEVEN procedures (which can be identified in the article above and include liposuction, dental work, a breast lift, and more), the first time they were reunited was at the altar. Personally, I feel that if you are getting married in the first place, shouldn’t your significant other love you just the way you are? ‘Bridalplasty’ says no.  Allyson did look absolutely stunning and received a standing ovation from her guests and fiance as she revealed herself at the altar, but if I were the fiance, I would not know who I was marrying. She made a complete transformation, which I could respect if it was due to honest hardwork and commitment to bettering herself. Unfortunately, it was through artificial procedures. I think that marriage is made a mockery of when two people who love each other feel the need to change each other or themselves physically solely for the wedding day. You love one another. You think the other is attractive. You respect them. You have a future with them. What else do you need?

Overall, the show did keep my interest, which I am ashamed to say. I love the wedding industry. I found the challenges involving floral arrangements, vows, dresses, and catered food fun and entertaining for people who are interested in the industry, and the happy ending between Allyson and her new husband made me tear up due to the honest love between the two. I just wish brides and women everywhere as a whole did not let this show influence their self-esteems. Surgeries are expensive and unnecessary, but confidence is free.

Written by A.P.

February 9, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

