Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Music in my Life

leave a comment »

The Police, Sugarland and Hall& Oates. Three bands you don’t often see grouped together but they are three that to me are special. For me songs bring me back to certain times or make me feel certain ways. These are three examples of how integral music is in everyone’s life.

The Police’s only album has always had a place in my heart. I remember being in my dad’s car with my brothers and blasting all of these songs. It was one CD that we all agreed on and belted it out to. I have a vivid memory of being in the car on the way to dinner with my entire family and we all were singing “Roxanne”. We were all so happy just listening to this song and being with each other. 

Sugarland’s song “Stuck Like Glue” will , no matter what mood I am in, will always bring a smile to my face and make me dance around like a fool. It is a catchy tune and you can’t help but sing to it. It reminds me of one night here at Marist. We were at our friend’s house partaking in “happy juice” and listening to music. Someone put on this song and two of our friends got up and made an entire dance to it including spins and dips. This was a hilarious and adorable moment I will remember for years to come.

Last but not least is Hall & Oate’s song “You Make My Dreams Come True”. I have three best friends that are basically my sisters. We do everything together, know everything about each other and have some of my best times together. Over the years this song has been an important part of our friendship. Anytime we are getting ready to go out we will take time to dance around to this song. It is also the song we use for major events. When we entered Montreal for New Years, got to the Dave Matthews Band concert or even got to each other’s house we will play this song and the scene is set. We are going to have a great time because we are prepped and ready from listening to the musical genius of Hall & Oates.

Written by tierneysmith1

April 28, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

