Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Nick’s Favorite Music List

leave a comment »

I am sincerely sorry for posting 6 songs, but lend them an ear without the lengthy description and you will enjoy.

She’s The Blade – Sugarcult
Sugarcult’s album “Palm Trees and Power Lines” must have been released around the time that I was in the eighth grade, in 2005. I tend to go through single song periods where I simply can’t get enough of one song, and this song was IT for me through a period in my life that I was near a computer or iPod or CD player very frequently for the first time in my life. I can recall listening to this song on repeat simply by the catchy melody composed of pre-choruses and bridges that had me humming the whole way through. The lyrics only made it better as I couldn’t get enough of the story told, and how the music video freakishly showed it. This song still stands to be one of my favorite songs, and its not because of my adolescent obsession.

The Rock Show – Blink 182
At even a younger age than the song before, Blink 182 was my all time favorite band growing up. Quite typical, I know. But I remember turning on the radio in my parents room while they were down stairs and hearing this band come on. I would get so excited that the radio was playing a song from “Enema of the State” that I’d grab the nearest hanger and rock out on my parents bed until my face turned blue. They continued to be my favorite band even when I saw them at the first concert I ever attended on their “Take Off Your Pants and Jacket” tour. Extremely clever album name. Needless to say, they opened that show with this song, and the word “FUCK” in flames behind them.

Every Way – Circa Survive
This is a song that I have come to like recently. It swayed me to make a “Play Me On A Rainy Day” playlist on my iTunes because of how happy this song makes me. Enough said.

Crush – Jimmy Eat World
This was the first song I played with my band on bass. I hadn’t really heard it before, but I’ve always been a fan of Jimmy Eat World. I remember buying their album “Futures” and having it on repeat forever. “Clarity” [the album which Crush comes from] is up to par with the aspects of “Futures” that made me crazed. The lyrics and the simple melody of the song caught my attention instantly and I have come to love this song since then.

I Would Do Anything For Love – Meatloaf
This was the song that would be in my father’s cassette player in his Nissan Maxima growing up. My dad was a great Meatloaf fan, for all the right reasons, and I will never forget the brief car rides with him screaming this song as a child.

Better Off Dead – New Found Glory
I couldn’t leave this list without posting a song from my favorite artist of all time. Better Off Dead leads NFG’s self-titled album, and I suggest listening to the album in its full entirety for anyone who is interested in the genre (pop-punk). Enjoy.

Written by BYAMnick

April 28, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

