Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Alyssa’s Musical Autobiography

leave a comment »

Here are a few songs that mean something to me and have had significance in my life from a young age until the present day.

1) “Black Balloon” by Goo Goo Dolls
The Goo Goo Dolls remind me of my childhood. They were extremely popular in the 90’s and early 2000’s, which is when I spent a lot of time riding around in my parents’ cars. We always listened to the radio, and this is one of the songs I just remember knowing and loving for almost my entire life. I saw them live last summer for the first time, and I cried. Their music has always just meant so much to me.

2) “Penny and Me” by Hanson
Though most people would make fun of me for this one, I’m still proud of it. 🙂 Hanson was my first concert when I was in second grade. I remember going with my mom and best friend at the time. I was obsessed like a typical little girl, and they were really my version of the Jonas Brothers nowadays for young girls. I adore them still, and this is honestly still one of my favorite songs.

3) “Where Are You Now?” by The Summer Set
My boyfriend and I have been together for 14 and a half months, and we have been long distance for a year of that. We heard this song for the first time shortly before we went long distance (he graduated from Marist last year), and we really connected with it. We lead our own lives, but not a minute goes by where we don’t miss each other.

4) “Drumming Song” by Florence and the Machine
I’ve been a tap dancer for the past sixteen years, and it has been one of my greatest passions. I am in the dance ensemble at Marist and have choreographed tap dances three times since I’ve been here. I used this song for my piece this semester and got amazing reviews. I had a whole new group of tap dancers that I hadn’t worked with before, but we all came together and created a really intricate tap piece together. This song reminds me of my dancing, the bond my class had, and how much I just love Florence Welch!

5) “Konstantine” by Something Corporate
I can’t even fully describe the meaning this song has to me. Something Corporate is one of my favorite bands, and this song is musically incredible. It is almost 10 minutes long, has a beautiful melody, and amazing lyrics. This song puts me to sleep almost every night, and I have always just felt this odd connection to it. It reminds me of every love I’ve ever hard– both the hardships and happiness. I still get chills whenever I listen to it.

Written by A.P.

May 2, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

