Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kelley’s Music List

leave a comment »


Remember The Name: Fort Minor I just have to hear the first five seconds to be thrown back to my high school soccer days, warming up for a home game at the stadium under the lights as the stands started to fill up. This song was the first track on our warm-up CD and it set the tone for the rest of the night. Still every time I hear this song I get excited and serious at the same time. The beat, lyrics, and pace combined just create the perfect song to warm-up or work out to. Even to this day when I go to the gym and this song comes on I get the little flutters I used to getting ready for a big game.

American Pie- Don McLean– I have what I call “music A.D.D” where I often find myself hitting the next button on my iPod after 40seconds or so. However, this is probably the one song that I could listen to over and over. That is saying a lot seeing as how the song is 8 minutes and 40 seconds. The song tells an elaborative story with a lot of historical meaning, but American Pie has a lot of personal meaning for me as well. Every summer growing up my family would go to Block Island. There would always be live music on a patio at the beach club we went to and we heard this song every year and every year as a family we would guiltlessly sing along. For the longest time I didn’t know it was a famous song and that other people knew it, and then in 7th grade at a school assembly someone started singing it and everyone knew the words. Even though now I know that it is a well known song it will always be my family’s song.

Let ‘Er Rip- Dixie Chicks– I don’t remember when I got my first Dixie Chicks CD, but I do remember learning every single word to Let ‘Er Rip when I was younger. I would just play it over and over running around the house thinking I was a country star. I think I liked it so much because it starts off slow then there is an element of surprise when it gets faster. The song is about being with a man and knowing he wants to end the relationship and wanting him to just “Let ‘Er Rip” and end it than dragging it out longer. Of course I didn’t know or understand the song when I was younger, it was just an upbeat song for me to sing, but now it has more of a meaning to it.

Boston- Augustana This song for me always makes me so sad. It is sung with a lot of emotion and I think it’s a song that everyone can relate too.  Everyone has had a time in their life where they are so tired of their daily routine and want something more.  The song says “I think I’ll start a new life, I think I’ll start it over, where no one knows my name” referring to moving from California to Boston spontaneously. Every time I hear this song now I start to daydream and just think about what life would be like if I just picked up and left.

Written by kelleysullivan1

May 2, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

