Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Music

leave a comment »

It’s become all to easy to listen and share music today, both legally and illegally, making it impossible to decide on simply three songs that have some significant meaning to me. One may seem a bit odd, but Elvis’ I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You has become a part of my family. 31 years ago it was my parents’ wedding song. They never let us forget it. Growing up, if the song came on the radio my mom would never let us turn it off and it was frequently playing in the house. I came to identify the family they had built with this song.

Dispatch’s The Generalis more personal than something a share with my family. People often debate politics and war and of course there are so many stances to take other than “for” or “against”. I would have to agree with Dispatch that it is more about the people involved than the politics of it all.

I do believe it’s important to consider the future, not just your own but how that will fit in with a constantly changing world. Bob Dylan’s The Times They Are A-Changin’ is the ideal reminder.

Written by What is Popular is not Always Right...

May 2, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

