Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Gay Activism Reaches Professional Sports

leave a comment »

Sean Avery’s Endorsement of Gay Marriage  Today when I opened my Yahoo homepage, this title stood out to me. Gay marriage has been a hot topic of discussion for as long as I can remember. It has always something I have been aware of, but I don’t think it really hit me about how serious this issue is till I came to college. Some of my closest friends here at Marist are gay and after listening to their relationship up and downs and their life long goals, I can’t imagine that they don’t have the same rights as me in the eyes of the law. Seeing activism really spread to the forefront of the media with the help of big name starts in the industry, is great. But it is even better when athletes bring light to this issue. Sean Avery of the New York Rangers recently stared in an advertisement calling for the support of gay rights. Having the support of a male athlete really breaks ground for the issue and helps loose the “taboo” topic that is associate with gay and lesbian athletes. Check out the link for the advertisement and article on Sean Avery

Written by kelseydonohue1

May 10, 2011 at 2:36 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

