Communications and Society blog: By and for students in Marist COM 201

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Nick’s Top 3 Songs

leave a comment »

Come On Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners – This song is nostalgic to my life because it was the first song I heard on the radio when I learned to drive. My dad took me to a desolate parking lot of an abandoned supermarket to show me how to turn and break, very simple objectives. I was more excited than nervous and my adrenaline was rushing, but as soon as I pressed on the pedal this song popped up. I only heard the song once or twice before, but it really rung out that day. It was as if I was living in a movie with a classic American soundtrack. I sing this song regularly.

Boondocks – Little Big Town – I am in the acapella group here on campus, Time Check and was ecstatic when I got in the group my freshman year. Over the summer I was told to learn this classic country song because I would be singing the solo in the arrangement we just ordered. I studied the solo nearly every day, even if I just watched the youtube video once, but I was solid on the lyrics by the time school started. I have a foot-stompin’ good time with the song and we tend to use it as a concert closer because of it’s high energy level.

Taxi – Harry Chapin – I cannot sing this song word for word, but my father can. And it is the only song that he will sing when we go to a karaoke event.  The song is similar to the song American Pie or Piano Man due to the fact that it tells a vivid story, it has a distinctive beginning, middle, and end. This it what I feel a lot of music is missing today, a classic story line. I’ll be impressed if anyone from class can sing along with this classic song.

Written by nicholashomler1

May 10, 2011 at 1:21 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

